ORGANISATIONAL CHART

The Mining Museum houses unique collections of minerals, ores, rocks, paleontological remains, models and miniatures on the history of mining and metallurgical equipment, melee weapons, stone-cutting products and jewelry. The museum’s collections are the cultural heritage of the country, and are made up of 240,000 exhibits collected from all the continents of the world.

The Museum occupies 20 halls with a total area of 4000 m2. Its halls are located on the first floor of the building, which was constructed in 1806-1811 and designed by the renowned Russian architect Andrey Nikiforovich Voronikhin. The interiors of the Museum were designed by the Chief Architect of the Mining Cadet Corps, Alexander Ivanovich Postnikov, in 1821-1826.

The Museum is an academic, cultural and educational division of the Institute. The museum’s collections, which have been part of the Mining Institute structure since it was founded, have been the basis for the academic and research activities of the Mining Institute for two centuries. The Museum is integrated into the educational process and plays a vital role in the training of highly qualified specialists in the field of mining and geology.

Currently, the Museum structure includes 3 main departments:

  1. Mineralogical department (II-VII)
  2. Department of the history of mining machinery (VIII-IX)
  3. Geological department (XI-XX)
Система Orphus
Стандартная версия сайта